Datos Super Tiop

  • 24 Hour assistance
  • +51 959 375 371
  • +51 84 245 171
  • Find Us:
  • Español
  • English
  • Português
  • Français

About Peru


Name: Republic of Peru
Area: 1’285,216 square kilometers
Population: 29’885,340 inhabitants
Capital: Lima is one of the largest cities in America and a place where the modernity mixes perfectly with a glorious, and full of tradition, past.
Government: Constitutional republic
President: Martin Vizcarra Cornejo (2018-2020)
Official languages: Spanish and Quechua
Currency: Nuevo Sol
Time zone: PET (UTC – 5) (Used in all of the territory and during the entire year)
Location: Peru is located in the western-central part of South America.
Geographic regions: There are three main regions according to the geographic location and the topography: the Costa (coast), the Sierra (highlands) and the Selva (jungle).
Boarders: To the north Peru boarders Ecuador and Colombia; to the south it boarders Chile; to the east it boarders Brazil and Bolivia and, to the west it boarders the Pacific Ocean.
Climate: In the coastal region, the average temperature is always gentle and pleasant and it hardly even rains. In the highlands region the temperatures are a little bit colder in some places and colder in others, but always bearable with a rainy season that goes from December to April. In the jungle (Amazon region), it it always hot and it rains a lot throughout the entire year.
Main productions: fishmeal, corn, sugarcane, cotton, coffee, wool, processed minerals, refined oil and textiles.
Gross Domestic Product (GDP): US$ 126,734 million.
Peru is one of the most important touristic and cultural attraction centers in the world. In its territory the AMAZON River, the longest and largest river in the world, is born (recent studies state that the Amazon River surpasses the Nile River in length). Also in Peru and Bolivia we find Lake Titcaca, the highest navigable river in the world.
In Peru we find almost every existing climate.
The Peruvian territory is divided in 24 Departments and 1 Constitutional Province (El Callao).


The Peruvian population is formed by European descendents, natives and mestizos. The official languages are Spanish and Quechua, but there are also lots of indigenous languages such as Aymara, Shipibo, and so on.
Even though the Catholic religion is the main religion in Peru, there is also a lot of religious syncretism between the Andean and Jungle cultures.
The Peruvian government is republican and unitary with a unicameral Congress formed by 120 members. The President of the Republic is chosen for a 5 years period and is in charge of the executive branch through its Council of Ministers.

Logos Footer

lonely tripadvisor letsgo viajeros mincetur iperu naruto tierra